Seth Troxler mixes new DJ-Kicks

[separator type=”thin”]

Seth Troxler will be mixing the next episode of the legendary DJ-Kicks series, !K7 has announced. The colourful DJ, producer and Tuskegee and Soft Focus label boss has selected 18 records for the mix compilation, including tracks by Butch, K Alexi, DJ Koze, Derrick Carter, Cobblestone Jazz and free jazz pioneer Sun Ra.

Troxler on his contribution to the legendary series: “For my DJ-Kicks mix I wanted to do something that was honest, so I went out in the morning, micro-dosed myself and did all these errands around town. Then I came home at night and did the mix in one take. I wanted to curate something for people to easily listen to, that was nice, and funny and got you in the mood to do your homework, or drive that hour long trip when you need to go somewhere. I see this mix as a gay man named Rodney. Or a big black woman named Birtha.”

The mix also features an exclusive track Troxler made with Dutch DJ/producer Tom Trago. Troxler: “It was made after the closing of Trouw in Amsterdam, a place that we both loved dearly. Club Trouw used to be the printing press for a large daily newspaper and De Natte Cel (‘The Wet Cell’) was the shower room where the employees would wash the ink off their bodies that they specially opened for the last month that the club was open. Tom and I both played in De Natte Cel during the closing party and were so inspired by the space we left Trouw after around 48 hours, partied all night at the hotel and then went straight into the studio.”

01. Niki Nakazawa – Would It Be
02. Herbert – Suddenly (Phil Parnell’s Pianissimo Play Through)
03. DJ Koze – Bodenweich
04. Cobblestone Jazz – Northern Lights
05. Wolfgang Haffner – Melodia Del Viento (Ricardo Villalobos & Max Loderbauer Meloopdia Remix)
06. T&T Music Factory – De Natte Cal (DJ-Kicks)
07. Hauke Freer – XK
08. Butch – Dope
09. Session Victim – Stick Together
10. Club Artists United – Sweet Chariot (Kerri “Kaoz 6:23″ Chandler Dramatic Dub)
11. Jasper Street Company – Reach (Basement Sessions Main Vocal Mix)
12. K-Alexi Shelby – Sex-N-R-001
13. Mood II Swing feat. John Ciafone – Ohh
14. Derrick L. Carter – Dreaming Again
15. Byron Stingily – Why Can’t You Be Real (Danny’s 12” Mix)
16. Vanessa McMillian – Stay With Me
17. Sun Ra And His Intergalactic Research Arkestra – Enlightenment

Seth Troxler’s DJ-Kicks will be available on October 16th on CD, LP and all digital formats. Pre-orders can be made through !K7.

Comments are closed.


House Cult is a community focused on electronic music. A particular active subculture full of people who all share the same passion for electronic music. For some still a cult, for others a way to enrich everyday life. For all of us a culture that brings us together.